Reprinted from Feb. 2 issue

Courtesy Photo
Robert Pulster, a Jamaica Plain resident and the executive director of ESAC (Ensuring Stability through Action in our Community),was named the inaugural recipient of the Norma F. Mosely Housing Advocate of the Year award from the Massachusetts Mortgage Bankers Association. The MMBA announced the creation of the award in honor of Mosely, who worked at ESAC for more than 20 years and dedicated her life to the causes of fair housing and homebuyer education.

City Councilor John Tobin was appointed a trustee of the Boston Neighborhood Jobs Trust.

Jessie Auger of the Hernandez School was named 2006 Teacher of the Year by the state Department of Education.

The following students were named to the honor roll at Beaver Country Day School: Madeline Kiefer, Michael Everdell, Nathaly Figueroa, Yuri Bredbeck and Kelly Kretschmar.

Cesar Pena graduated from the JFYNetWorks’ Environmental Technology Training Program at a ceremony held at Suffolk University Law School.

Génesis Peña-Cruz graduated from Newton Country Day School of the Sacred Heart.

The following students were named to the dean’s list at Simmons College: Amanda McCormick, Christine Krones, Dakota Allstadt, Luciana Ambrosi-Sleight, Anna Ellingboe, Ashley Haight, Brooke Adkins and Nanette Savides.

The following students graduated from Simmons College: Susan Russell, Leah Handverger, Paul Wilkstrom, Jennifer Horton, Shana Witkin, Susan Bermon, Christine Krones, Rosalind Trent, Michele Curry, Charlotte Collins, Robin Anderson, Julie Myers, Shari Cahill, Elizabeth Icaza, Kate Gubata, Carolyn Chu, Deeth Ellis, Todd Strauss, Jennifer Mason, Michael Allen and Melissa Andrews.

Rachael Fulp, administrative director for the Center for Cardiovascular Disease in Women at Brigham and Women’s Hospital, graduated from the Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts Foundation’s Massachusetts Institute for Community Health Leadership.

Henry Spitzer received the Outstanding Male Athlete award and the Coach’s Award for varsity boy’s baseball at Brimmer and May School.

Christopher L. Milliken graduated from Framingham State College.

Yoshie Tsuda was named to the dean’s list at Framingham State College.

The South Street Youth Center received a $5,000 grant to create a community garden from the New England Grassroots Environment Fund.

English High School student Dagmawit Sirmollo received a $1,000 scholarship from Comcast’s Leaders and Achievers Scholarship Program.

Amonita E. Harmon graduated from Stonehill College.

John Matthew Tobin III was born June 27 to City Councilor John Tobin and Kate Plunkett Tobin.

Jorge Casas joined the Boston Building Materials Resource Center’s board of trustees.

Keith Jackson graduated from Williams College.

Joshua Cooper Rand was born May 11 to Douglas and Kimberly Rand.

Erin O’Connor was named to the dean’s list at Roger Williams University.

Kara Marie Higgins was named to the dean’s list at Drew University.

Paige Kretschmar was named to the dean’s list at Goucher College.

Marty Wrin of Grassroots International will attempt to walk from JP to
Provincetown within 36 hours as a fund-raiser to ship medical supplies to the Palestinian Medical Relief Society.

Miguel Williams graduated from Goucher College.

Andrew Pond was appointed president and CEO of Justice Resource Institute.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *