City election Sept. 22

John Ruch

The city preliminary election will be held Tues., Sept 22. The election will narrow the field of candidates for mayor, at-large (citywide) Boston City Council seats and some district (neighborhood) Boston City Council seats. Candidates who survive the preliminary election will appear on the final election ballot on Nov. 3.

Polls will be open from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m. To find out your polling place, contact the Boston Election Department at 635-3767 or For candidate profiles and updated election coverage, see the Gazette web site at

The following candidates will appear on local ballots:

Mayor: Michael Flaherty, Kevin McCrea, Thomas Menino (incumbent) and Sam Yoon. William Feegbeh is running a write-in campaign. Voters can choose one candidate. The election will narrow the field to two candidates.

At-Large City Council: Felix G. Arroyo (Jamaica Plain resident), Doug Bennett, John Connolly (incumbent), Ego Ezedi, Robert Fortes, Tomás Gonzalez, Tito Jackson, Andrew Kenneally, Steve Murphy (incumbent), Hiep Nguyen, Ayanna Pressley, Sean Ryan (JP resident), Jean-Claude Sanon, Bill Trabucco and Scotland Willis. Voters can choose up to four candidates. The election will narrow the field to eight candidates.

District 7 (Egleston Square) City Council: Althea Garrison, Carlos “Tony” Henriquez, Roy Owens and Chuck Turner (incumbent). Voters can choose one candidate. The election will narrow the field to two candidates.

There will be no preliminary election ballots for the District 6 City Council seat, where John Tobin is running unopposed, or for the District 8 City Council seat, which already has only two candidates (Oscar Brookins and incumbent Mike Ross). Both of those seats will appear only on the final election ballot.

At least some of the mayoral candidates are scheduled to appear at a Sept. 17 forum at English High School. [See JP Agenda.] The Gazette will post a report about that forum at

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.