One competitive Council race in JP for preliminary

There will be one competitive City Council race—District 7—in Jamaica Plain during the City’s preliminary election Sept. 26, according to a list provided by the City’s Election Department.

City Councilor Matt O’Malley of District 6, which represents most of Jamaica Plain, and City Councilor Andrea Joy Campbell of District 4, which covers parts of Forest Hills and Woodbourne, both do not have a challenger in either the preliminary or the Nov. 7 general election.

Tito Jackson is the current city councilor for District 7, which covers a portion of Egleston Square. Jackson has opted to forgo a reelection campaign in order for a chance to become mayor. That has unleashed a fury of activity in the District 7 race, with 13 candidates entering the fray. They are Angelina Magdalena Camacho, Joao Gomes DePina, Rufus J. Faulk, Carlos Tony Henriquez, Kim Janey, Deeqo Jibril, Brian Keith, Jose Lopez, Charles Clemons Muhammad, Roy Owens, Dominique A. Williams, Hassan A. Williams, and Steven A. Wise.

In the mayoral race, Jackson will face-off against incumbent Martin Walsh and two other challengers: Robert Cappucci and Joseph A. Wiley. The top two vote getters in the Sept. 26 preliminary will move on to the general election.

There will be no preliminary race for an at-large city councilor seat, as all eight candidates are guaranteed a spot in the general election. The candidates Domingos DaRosa, William A. King, Althea Garrison, and Pat Payaso will face incumbents Michael Flaherty, Annissa Essaibi George, Ayanna Pressley, and Michelle Wu. The top four vote getters will receive an at-large city councilor seat.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *