The following Jamaica Plain individuals, businesses and organizations have received recognition.

The WorkFirst program at hopeFound received a $25,000 donation from Wal-Mart.

Guerdy Jean-Poix received the Marguerite Thomson Scholarship for Excellence, Bradley E. Jones received an Excellence Award in Chemistry and Ryan T. Hanifin received an Excellence Award in Geometry at the Boston College High School.

Community Servings was the winner of the Smaller Busniess Association of New England’s Innovation Award for 2009. David Waters, CS’s CEO was also the featured speaker at SBANE’s Forum for Professional Growth and Opportunity.

Joseph Laurard graduated from Westfield State College.

Joy Dawson finished first at the Eastern Mass. Bridge Association’s Sectional tournament.

Janet Foley, local volunteer leader for Fresh Air Fund, helped 101 inner-city New York City children have a special summer in Central Mass.

Girl Scouts of Eastern Mass from JP were guests at the Dunkin’ Dugout, a Dunkin’ Donuts program that benefits youth and charitable organizations.

Community Servings was a beneficiary of Vertex Pharmaceuticals’ first “Day of Service”.

Richard Erwin earned Dean’s List recognition at the Wentworth Institute of Technology.

Michael J. Wilkinson & Mary Staubitz had a daughter, Esther May.

The Somali Development Center received more than $2000 in seized drug money as a donation from the Suffolk Country District Attorney’s Office.

John Alves, Celine Fellows & Carlos Salazar all graduated from the Wentworth Institute of Technology.

Karen Bressler has been appointed to Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center’s Board of Overseers, a group of good-will ambassadors within the communities served by BIDMC.

Kate Bonsignore, Steven Conohan, Claire Gross, Leonard Johnson, Alden Jones, Ryan Kelly, Meaghan O’Halloran, Patricia Pforte and Kelly Roberge ran the BAA Half Marathon a part of the Dana-Farber team.

The JP Green House is one of the 25 featured homes on the Northeast Sustainable Energy Association’s 2009 tour.

Elizabeth Shrobe, Isabel Leon & James Matthews have all joined Tufts University’s class of 2013.

The Mosaic School has earned accreditation from the National Association for the Education of Young Children.

Nicole Yana Davis won a fellowship through the National Science Teacher’s Association’s New Science Teacher Academy.

Lucia Kamm participated in the 17th Annual Susan G. Komen Mass Race for the Cure.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *