Urban Edge received a grant from the Citizens Bank Foundation for its counseling service, Foreclosure Prevention Counseling Program.

Faulkner Hospital has received the 2010 American Heart Association/American Stroke Association’s Get With The Guidelines® Stroke Gold Plus Performance Achievement Award. The award recognizes Faulkner Hospital’s commitment and success in implementing excellent care for stroke patients.

Dr. Linda Cohen has been recently recognized by the Harvard Vanguard Medical Associates, a multi-specialty medical group, for contributions through clinical excellence, patient service, teaching or research.

Jan Donley’s debut novel, The Side Door, has been nominated for a 2010 Lambda Literary Award in the LGBT Children’s/Young Adult category.

Kathleen Gaskin Holland was recently honored at a Action for Boston Community Development (ABCD) dinner for her longtime, tireless volunteer services to the Jamaica Plain community.

Sara Taylor was voted Most Valuable Player at the Newton Country Day School fall athletics awards assembly.

"Skin and Bone,” a film by JP residents Philip and Lucy Magcalas, was shown at the International Panorama of Independent Films in Greece.

Corey Santos was presented with the John F. Kerry Leadership Award in honor of his exemplary service to the office of the Middlesex District Attorney.

Diana Arcadipone received a 2010 Lesley University Impact Award, which is given annually to Lesley employees who have a special impact on the Lesley community.

Manny Delcarmen donated $15,000 to the Boston Public Schools (BPS) for library and athletics upgrades.

Kate Oldshue, along with her band, was a finalist in Generation Cures Battle of the Bands competition to benefit research at Children’s Hospital Boston.

The Elizabeth Stone House
received new toys, games, and books that were donated to the Retailers of South Station toy drive.

The Jamaica Plain Food Pantry recently received a $1,000 donation from the Peoples Federal Charitable Foundation, Inc.

Italian Home for Children was named a recipient of the Massachusetts Bankers Association Charitable Foundation’s 2010 community grant.

The Home for Little Wanderers’ Toy Room received truckloads of gifts from Coldwell Banker Residential Brokerage and Bernie & Phyl’s Furniture.

The Creighton Commons project at Blessed Sacrament was selected as a runner-up in the national Award of Excellence for Affordable Housing Built Responsibly competition. The JPNDC. the developer of the project, also received a $25,000 grant toward its ongoing work of developing efficient, healthy and affordable homes.

Massachusetts Alliance of HUD Tenants and Union of Minority Neighborhoods both received Burgess Urban Fund grants from Episcopal City Mission.

Jordan Ahnquist joined the cast of Shear Madness Boston.

Gregory Loukas,
son of Mr. and Mrs. Ronald S. Loukas achieved Honors for the first third marking period at Belmont Hill School.

Dahlia Shapiro
was chosen to participate in the Lipper Internship Program at the Museum of Jewish Heritage – A Living Memorial to the Holocaust in Lower Manhattan.

Amanda Kowalski
received a grant from the Passim Iguana Music Fund.

Paloma Valverde has been named a department chair for science at Wentworth Institute of Technology.

Thickshakes released their new single, "Why Buy the Cow."

Faulkner Hospital
was named to Harvard Pilgrim Health Care’s Fourth Annual Hospital Honor Roll.

Ian Cotterell, chief operating officer and longtime coach for Brookline-Jamaica Plain Patriots Pop Warner, was nominated for the inaugural Don Shula NFL Coach of the Year Award.

Jennifer Hill-Battilana and her husband David recently gave birth to a baby boy at Newton-Wellesley Hospital.

Congressman Stephen F. Lynch was named Ranking Member of the Subcommittee on Federal Workforce, U.S. Postal Service and Labor Policy for the 112th Congress.

Harvest Co-op Markets
donated over $2,500 to two local non-profit groups serving the hungry and homeless in the Boston/Cambridge area.

Erik Gehring’s photograph ‘Hybrid Yew’ was accepted into the Duxbury Art Association’s 2011 Winter Juried Show.

Bottom Line was one of five organizations from across the country selected as a finalist for a USA Funds Trustees’ National Award for College Success grant, worth up to $1 million.

Kenneth Zhang is the Massachusetts state winner of the SIFMA Foundation’s InvestWrite® financial essay competition.

Brendan Hughes and Michael O’Sullivan
achieved first honors, Joshua Mullins achieved principal’s list, Yushuang Hu and Jonathon Treon achieved second honors at the Catholic Memorial School.

Erik Gehring’s photograph ‘London Plane Tree II’ was accepted into the Concord Art Association’s 2011 Members Juried II.

Ted Wells, developer of the the Catalog Cancelling Challenge, was one of the six finalists in the National Geographic’s Find Your Footprint Contest.

Jean Diaz, Killy Bascom, Grant Benham, Susan Bermon, Patrick Brennan, Remias Cirilos, Ellen Eze, Ilene Fleischer, Sherry Golden, Wasib Hayat, Lisa Horton, Sherilyn Levy, Lourdes Lopez, Arden O’Donnell, Stacey Salomon, Andrea Shellman, Ricardo Silverio, Jr., April Stein, Ana Torres, Gianna Zuccotti, Peter Enzinger, Mrinalini Gadkari, Suzanne McHale, Julia Battel, Christina Borba, Kathy Clair-Hayes, James Gray, Courtney Greene, Maryfran Hughes, Amy Kogut, Frank Korn, Darren LeBlanc, Darshan Mehta, Colleen O’Connor-Wise, Mark Quigley, Meghan Rieu-Werden, Todd Rinehart, Eric Weil, John Wolfgang, Rebecca Bedard, Jessie Munn, Judy Yang, Idan Ben-Arieh, Neal Chen, Shawn Fitzpatrick, Tasha Hogeboom, Keith Howard, Robert O’Malley, III, Leslie Rivera, Edmond Wu, Joel Kleinman and Marianne Roberts recently received Partners in Excellence awards from Partners HealthCare and its affiliated hospitals and health centers.