Chang-Diaz, Malia cruise to victory

Local elected officials Sonia Chang-Diaz and Liz Malia cruised to victory in their respective races during the primary election on Sept. 8.

Chang-Diaz, the Democratic state senator for the 2nd Suffolk District, garnered 7,330 votes, or 79 percent of voters, besting her challenger Roy Owens, who collected 1,857 votes.

Malia, the Democratic state representative for the 11th Suffolk District, received 2,172 votes, or 71 percent of voters, topping her challenger Charles Clemons, who had 889 votes.

Chang-Diaz and Malia both will not face an opponent in the general election.

There was also a local contested race for the Governor’s Council, which confirms judicial appointments, among other duties. Democrat Christopher Iannella, a JP resident and the incumbent, easily beat Stephen Flynn for the District 4 seat. Iannella will not face a challenger in the general election.

Democrat Robert Jubinville, who currently holds the District 2 seat, ran unopposed in the primary, but will face Republican Brad Williams in the general election.

Democratic state Reps. Jeffrey Sanchez (15th Suffolk District) and Russell Holmes (6th Suffolk District) and Democratic state Sen. Michael Rush (Norfolk and Suffolk District) all did not face an opponent in the primary election and will not for the general election in November.

Democratic Suffolk County Sheriff Steven Tompkins beat back challenger Alexander Rhalimi and will not have an opponent for the general election.

Stephen Murphy topped Douglas Bennett, Katherine Forde, Stephanie Everett, Michael Mackan, Paul Nutting, and Jeffrey Michael Ross in the Democratic Suffolk County register of deeds race. He will face Margherita Ciampa-Coyne, John Keith, and Joseph Donnelly, Jr. in the general election.

On the federal level, Democrat U.S. Rep. Stephen Lynch (8th District) ran unopposed in the primary. In the general election, Lynch will face Republican William Burke, who was also unopposed in the primary.

Democrat U.S. Rep Mike Capuano (7th District) did not face a challenger in the primary and will not have one for the general election.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *